top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJaimie Simmons

How to Train your Cat toWalk on a Leash

If you can walk a dog, why not walk a cat? Indoor cats can go outdoors, too! Cats (and people!) are meant to spend time outside. Walks are so incredibly healthy - physically and mentally - for both you and your cat and are a great way to enjoy life together.


👉🏻 Walking your cat requires a little bit of training, just like walking a dog does, but if you follow these steps, you guys will be cruisin' the streets in no time!




Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn income on purchases made from clicking the links on this blog post, at no extra cost to you! I strongly believe in transparency and honesty, therefore I will never recommend a product I don't believe in!



 

STEP 1: Master the "Come Here!"

Condition your cat to come to you when you call its name. This will make the leash-training process incredibly easier, and less stressful for both you and your cat.


STEP 2: Harness Training

It is completely normal for your cat to be confused and uncomfortable when first wearing a harness. Remember, training can to be slow and patience is essential. Cats get stressed when you're stressed, so remember to relax and only train when you're in the mindset.


Continuously give it treats, pets, and speak in a calming baby voice (science proves cats like the baby voice!) as you put on the harness. Let kitty get used to the harness around the house for about 30 minutes each day for a few days.


I use the JVVGPET Cat Harness with Airtag Holder. The ability to attach an AirTag to my cat's harness adds peace of mind for me, since I literally have nightmares of her escaping and running away. Just in case the leash slips out of my fingers, I feel better knowing I can track her on my phone. As someone who professionally studies and follows bobcats, I can assure you that catching a runaway cat is no easy feat. Note: AirTag not included.





STEP 3: Indoor Leash Training

During leash-training, hold the leash tautly so kitty doesn't just think it's a toy and want to play with it. Practice walking your cat on the leash inside your home by holding treats in front of it and calling its name as you walk. You might have to drag kitty VERY GENTLY for it to understand the concept of walking next to you.


STEP 4: Backpack Rides 🎒

Carrying your cat on your back (or front!) is a great way to mentally stimulate your cat, especially if you're still harness training and kitty has been getting overstimulated by the outside world. 🌎


Plus it's a great way to take your BFF (best furry friend) with you on trips to the farmers market, outdoor restaurants, and hikes. There are soooo many great cat backpack options out there to chose from, but after my intensive comparison, I settled on one I love 💕

I'll admit it, obsessed with Texsens Pet Carrier Backpack

My first attraction to this bag was that the top is sloped with a mesh screen that opens, so I can easily see my cat if I wear the backpack in front. There is a leash inside to clip to her harness so she can’t jump out. 🐈


I also like that the Texsens Pet Carrier Backpack has a soft bottom so my cat is comfortable, but still firm so she doesn’t sag, and removable for easy cleaning. 🧼


The mesh windows allow for ultimate visibility (for your cat to see the world and for you to see your cat!) and breathability (to prevent overheating), but you can zip up the "curtains" if kitty needs a little privacy or if it's a little chilly out! 🪟


The chest strap and hip strap also allow more stability and comfort, especially useful when hiking. The pockets on both sides are perfectly sized for your phone, wallet, keys, and treats! 📱 🪪 🔑



STEP 5: Outdoor Leash Training

Once you feel like kitty is comfortable in the harness and understands the concept of walking on the leash, you can emerge into the world. Remember, this may be wildly overstimulating to your indoor cat; it's basically been living in quarantine until now! This is a whole new world!


See my blog post about cat sensory to read about how cats perceive the world differently than humans.


Start on short walks in a quiet setting, then gradually increase the length, duration, and commotion level of the surroundings until your cat is visibly more comfortable out in the real world.



Comments


bottom of page